Top 3 Points on How to Improve Your Writing

improve your writing

Originally posted on brianwfoster.com

• Read – That’s usually the first thing that people tell you to do if you want to become a better writer. I read. I read a lot, 8 books finished this month. I’m not sure, however, how much any of that reading is doing to improve my writing. Maybe there’s something wrong with me, but I simply don’t learn much about writing by reading fiction.

• Write – That’s the second piece of advice you’re going to get if you ask, “How do I become a better writer?” I wrote a quarter of a million words before I got serious about learning to write, and I’m not sure that the last sentence that I wrote was much better than the first.

• Start with Short Stories – While there is value in starting something that is easier to finish, if you want to write a novel, you’ll learn more by writing that first novel than by writing a hundred short stories. There are a lot of differences between the two forms.

For the complete and original posting, visit Brian Foster’s Blog

One response to “Top 3 Points on How to Improve Your Writing

  1. Pingback: Page not found | Self Publishing Daily·

Leave a Reply

